Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
U21 Hurling Championship (County Semi Final)
- Aghabullogue V St. Catherines
Report Page

01/10/2011 St. Catherines 3-11 Aghabullogue 3-10


The Aghabullogue U21 Hurlers were unfortunate to lose out to St. Catherines in the Semi Final of the U21 B Hurling Championship on Saturday, 1st October. Despite St. Catherines dominating the opening quarter, the Aghabullogue men worked tirelessly and by full time, there was only one point between the sides.

St. Catherines had a tally of 2-02 before Mark O'Flynn recorded the first score of the game for Aghabullogue. St. Catherines added another point to their tally before Aidan Barry Murphy and John Buckley responded with points from play for Aghabullogue. John Corkery quickly followed these scores with an impressive goal leaving just one goal between the sides. St. Catherines responded with a further one goal and three points before John Corkery again stepped up and added another goal for Aghabullogue. Paudie Twomey added a further point from play for Aghabullogue, however St. Catherines replied with another point just before half time leaving the score board read 3-07 to 2-04 after the first thirty minutes.

The first score of the second half came from the East Cork men, however the men in green and white upped the ante and narrowed the margin to four points with scores courtesy of Paudie Twomey and John Buckley. St Catherines followed this with three further points. Aghabullogue displayed great heart and determination throughout the game and especially in the last quarter with John Corkery scoring an impressive one goal and three points. Despite the hard fought efforts of the Aghabullogue men, it was not enough on the night and St. Catherines ran out winners on a scoreline of 3-11 to 3-10.

Team : Peter O'Sullivan, Thomas Barrett, Dan Healy, Anthony O'Sullivan, Alan Hogan, Greg Murphy, Eamonn Murphy, Aidan Barry Murphy, Denis Quinlan, Michael Dennehy, John Buckley, Mark O'Flynn, Mark Long, Paudie Twomey, John Corkery.

Subsitutes: Ger Hogan for Mark Long.

Scorers: John Corkery 3-03 (0-01 free's), John Buckley 0-03, Paudie 0-02, Mark O'Flynn & Aidan Barry Murphy 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors