Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
U21 Football Championship - Aghabullogue V Cill Na Martra Report Page

21/03/2009  Cill Na Martra  1-10   Aghabullogue  1-04


Our U21 footballers were unlucky to be defeated by Cill Na Martra in the first round of the championship in a game played in Macroom. The Aghabullogue lads found it hard to put scores on the scoreboard but eventually Ian O'Sullivan found the target with an impressive point from play. The half time scoreline read 0-4 to 0-1 in favour of Cill Na Martra.

Cill Na Martra opened the scoring in the second half with a point from play, followed by a well taken penalty. Aghabullogue then upped the ante, and Anthony O'Sullivan found the net, much to the delight of his fellow team mates and supporters. Aghabullogue and Cill Na Martra then exchanged a number of points, with the Aghabullogue scores coming from Aidan Barry Murphy, Ian O'Sullivan and Jerome Corkery. John Buckley made a spectacular save from a penalty but this was not enough to ensure the Aghabullogue boys a place in the next round of the championship. The match finished on a final scoreline of 1-10 to 1-04.
  Team : John Buckley, Ian McSweeney, David Sheehan, Greg Murphy, Nicky O'Donovan, Paudie Twomey, Jerome Corkery, Ian O' Sullivan, Thomas Barrett, Michael Dennehy, Aidan Barry Murphy, Alan Hogan, Ciaran Barrett, Gerard Hogan, Anthony O'Sullivan.

Subsitutes: Stephen Dennehy for Anthony O'Sullivan, Dhani Merrick for Ian McSweeney.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors