Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Mid Cork U16 Football Championship Final 2009 Report Page

04/10/09  Aghabullogue  5-14  Ivelary 3-19
Aghabullogue were victorious in their quest to become Mid Cork U16 C football Champions following their great win over Ivelary on Sunday 4th October 2009. It took extra time to decide the winners of the competition and great credit is due to all involved for the skilful and determined display from the boys.

Ivelary started stronger and had 1-03 on the scoreboard before Aghabullogue settled into the game and found it easier to get scores. The first half Aghabullogue scores came from John Corkery (1-03), Tim Herlihy (1-00) and Evan O’Sullivan (1-00), and at half time the scoreline read 3-03 to 1-08 in favour of Aghabullogue.

The second half of ordinary time was again a very close affair. John Corkery got four points for Aghabullogue and a last minute goal from Oliver lynch ensured a draw for Aghabullogue and another chance to win the game as the game went to extra time.

The first half of extra time was again all very close but the tenacious efforts of the Aghabullogue boys saw them lead at half time on a scoreline of 5-10 to 1-18. Evan O’Sullivan and John Corkery scored 1-03 between them.

The second half of extra time was exciting to watch and with Aghabullogue getting the upper hand, they got great scores from Ian Barry Murphy, Sean O’Sullivan and John Corkery. Aghabullogue ran out deserved winners on the end on a final scoreline of 5-14 to 3-19. A fantastic victory for everyone involved.

Aghabullogue now go on to represent Mid Cork in the County competition, details of which are yet to be announced.

Team: Richard Byrne, Eamon Murphy, Greg Long, Brian McSweeney, James Lynch, Pearse Fitzpatrick, Sean O'Sullivan, John Corkery(c), David Dineen, Evan O'Sullivan, Ian Barry Murphy, Tim Herlihy, Daniel Wilson.

Substitutes: Dylan Kelleher for Brian McSweeney, Ryan Dennehy for Tim Herlihy, Oliver Lynch for Daniel Wilson, Neil McSweeney for David Dineen.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors