Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
U14 Camogie Féile A Final 2013 Report Page

16/05/2013 Ballygarvan 4-04 Aghabullogue 3-06


The Aghabullogue U14 girls were unfortunate to lose the U14 A Féile Camogie Final to Ballygarvan following a thrilling game on Thursday 16th May. The girls were beaten by the narrowest of margins and they displayed fantastic skill and dedication over the duration of the game and tournament. It was Aghabullogue who started the stronger and recorded some very impressive scores over the duration of the first half. The inside forward line of Laura Barrett, Orla Buckley and Rachel McElroy were on top form and helped Aghabullogue to develop a well deserved lead. At the other end of the field, Ellen Tarrant and her three backs, Miriam Cotter, Karena Curtin and Ellen Smith were tenacious in defense ensured that Ballygarvan only recorded one point in the first half. Clíona Healy and Katie McCarthy recorded some exceptional scores in the first half, from both free’s and from play, which meant Aghabullogue lead at half time on a score line of 1-03 to 0-01.

The second half was very close and great scores were recorded from both sides. The Aghabullogue wing forward line of Anna Sheehan, Sarah Healy and Karen Dennehy worked tirelessly and continued to pile the pressure on the Ballygarvan defense, which resulted in further fantastic scores from Clíona Healy. Ballygarvan however responded with four goals and two points, which gave them the lead for the first time in the match. The Aghabullogue wing back line of Ella Browne, Katie McCarthy and Jennifer Cotter fought tooth and nail for every ball and pushed the Aghabullogue girls forward every chance they got. The mid field duo of Ciara McCarthy and Clíona Healy displayed fantastic skill and heart and Aghabullogue clawed back the deficit. With minutes remaining, Clíona Healy equalised with an impressive goal, however luck was to be with Ballygarvan on the night as they recorded another point to give them a victory on a score line of 4-04 to 3-06. The Aghabullogue girls can be very proud of their performance on the night and throughout the competition. They displayed great skill, heart and determination throughout the competition and in still in contention for the League.

Team: Ellen Tarrant, Miriam Cotter, Karena Curtin, Ellen Smith, Ella Browne, Katie McCarthy, Jennifer Cotter, Ciara McCarthy, Clíona Healy, Anna Sheehan, Sarah Healy, Karen Dennehy, Laura Barrett, Orla Buckley, Rachel McElroy.

Other Panel members: Clodagh O’Hanlon, Julie Tarrant, Aoife Riordan, Sarah Byrne, Aisling Healy, Ella Foley

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors