Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
U14 Camogie Féile A Champions 2012 Report Page

17/05/2012 Aghabullogue 3-02 Ballinhassig 3-01


Aghabullogue were crowned U14 A Cork County Féile Champions following an a hard fought and emphatic victory over Ballinhassig on Thursday 17th May. Ballinhassig recorded the opening score of the game with a goal but Aghabullogue quickly denied them of this lead when full forward Amie O’Sullivan landed a bullet of a shot into the back of the Ballinhassig net. Despite the great defensive work of Lisa O’Driscoll, Katie McCarthy and Orla Buckley in the full back line, Ballinhassig scored another goal, however with the Aghabullogue mid fielders – Ciara McCarthy and Rachel McElroy on fire, Aghabullogue pushed forward and scored an impressive point from a free from wing forward Clíona Healy. The half time whistle blew and Ballinhassig were on top on a score line of 2-00 to 1-01.

Ballinhassig started the second half very strong and the Aghabullogue wing back line of Ellen Smith, and the two Curtin sisters – Ella and Karena, performed Trojan work to keep the Ballinhassig girls out. Ballinhassig did manage to score a goal, however Aghabullogue responded with a fantastic goal from Amie O’Sullivan and a point from play from Clíona Healy. Ballinhassig pushed further ahead with a point from play, however the skilful Aghabullogue wing forward line of Sarah Healy, Megan McCarthy and Clíona Healy pushed Aghabullogue forward and powered the ball into the determined full forward line of Christine Lyons, Amie O’Sullivan and Miriam Cotter. Substitute Karen Dennehy made an important impact and aided in the set up of another fantastic goal for full forward Amie O’Sullivan. The last minutes of the game were heart pounding stuff and Ballinhassig were denied a late goal chance when Aghabullogue goal keeper Ellen Tarrant made the all important save! Aghabullogue ran out well deserved winners in the end on the narrowest of margins, with the final scoreline reading 3-02 to 3-01.

Sheer heart, determination and skill were key to this fantastic achievement and great credit is due to the girls, their trainers, their parents and all others who played a part in any way! The girls now travel to Dublin on the first weekend of July to partake in the All-Ireland Féile series. Best of luck to the girls and all involved! 1995 was the last time Aghabullogue were crowned with this title and this was the third year of a three in a row! Here’s hoping that this victory will be part of another three in a row!!!

Team: Ellen Tarrant, Lisa O’Driscoll, Katie McCarthy, Orla Buckley, Karena Curtin, Ella Curtin, Ellen Smith, Ciara McCarthy, Rachel McElroy, Clíona Healy, Megan McCarthy, Sarah Healy, Christine Lyons, Amie O’Sullivan, Miriam Cotter.

Substitutes: Karen Dennehy for Christine Lyons

Other Panel members: Anna Sheehan, Clodagh O’Hanlon, Ella Browne, Jennifer Cotter, Julie Tarrant, Aoife Riordan, Sarah Byrne & Aisling Healy.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors