Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
U12 Hurling County Final:
Aghabullogue V Aghada
Report Page

21/09/08  Aghda 5-17  Aghabullogue  1-06


The U12 Hurlers lost out to Aghada in the County B Hurling Final on Saturday the 20th September in Delaneys. Aghada were a strong physical side but despite this, the Aghabullogue boys put up a strong defence trying their best at all times. Aghada were leading 2-11 to 0-4 at half time, the 4 points coming from Ian Barry-Murphy one from play and 3 from frees.

The game was played in excellent weather conditions with Aghada proving to be the better side all the way through. Despite this, Aghabullogue displayed great heart and determination and continued to battle on in the second half. A well deserved goal from Denis Desmond came early in the second half and was well received from the Aghabullogue supporters. This goal was then quickly followed by a point from Ian Barry Murphy. Despite Aghabullogues best efforts, Aghada found it easier to find the net getting 3 goals one after another. Aghada ran out winners in the end on a final score-line of 5-17 to 1-6.

Despite the disappointment of losing the final, the Aghabullogue boys should hold their heads up and be proud of their great achievements in the competition to date. It is a great achievement for any team to reach a County final in any competition. A lot of work has been done by this bunch of players and trainers over the last year and great credit is due to them for this. Lets hope this is the start of a bright future for Aghabullogue hurling!

Team: Gavin o Flynn, Dermot o Callaghan, Tim McSweeney, Sean Furey, John Lynch, Killian Cooney, Daniel O Rourke, Ian Barry Murphy, Sean Dineen, Mathew McCarthy, Greg Long, Christopher Duggan, Denis Desmond, Daniel Dineen,Billy Casey.

Substitutes: Niall Barry Murphy for Denis Desmond, James Bergin for Christopher Duggan, Daniel o Rourke for Mathew O Brien Bradley and Colin O Sullivan for Billy Casey.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors