Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Mid Cork Junior Hurling Championship Semi Final- Aghabullogue V Ballincollig Report Page

16/10/2011 Aghabullogue 1-13 Ballincollig 2-08


An inspiring display by the Aghabullogue men lead to an impressive win for Aghabullogue in the Mid Cork Junior B Hurling Championship Semi Final on Sunday 16th October. Mark O’Flynn opened the scoring with a point from a free for Aghabullogue. Ballincollig followed this with a goal, but this was quickly cancelled out by Aghabullogue with a goal from corner forward, Mark long following well executed passes from Ger Hogan and Kevin Finnegan. Ballincollig recorded the following two scores with a point from play and a point from a free, however Kevin Finnegan brought it back to level pegging with a great score from play. Ballincollig pushed ahead again with a goal and a point from play. Mark Long scored a point for Aghabullogue, however Ballincollig finished the scoring of the first half with a point leaving Ballincollig lead by 1-01 at half time on a scoreline of 2-04 to 1-03.

Ballincollig opened the scoring of the second half with a point from play but a determined Aghabullogue side worked hard and recorded three impressive points from play courtesy of Thomas Barrett, Kevin Finnegan and Mark O’Flynn. Ballincollig then added another point but Thomas Barrett and Aidan Barry Murphy replied with a point each from play, leaving just two points between the sides. Ballincollig added a further two points, however Aghabullogue upped the ante and following a period of sheer determination, they recorded five important points. Mark Long tapped over two points and with Kevin Finnegan and Thomas Barrett adding one point each from play, the sides were on level terms. With full time almost up, Aghabullogue were awarded a free and Aghabullogue centre back Denis O’Leary duely tapped the ball over the bar, which saw the Aghabullogue men lead for the first time in the match. The final whistle was blown and Aghabullogue won on a scoreline of 1-13 to 2-08. Aghabullogue now meet Cloughduv in the Mid Cork Final.

Team : Michael Buckley, Anthony O'Sullivan, Eamonn Murphy, David O'Leary, Paddy Foley, Denis O'Leary, Mark O'Brien, Aidan Barry Murphy, Tim Buckley, Tim O'Leary, Ger Hogan, Mark O'Flynn, Kevin Finnegan, Kevin Kennedy, Mark Long.

Subsitutes: Thomas Barrett for Kevin Kennedy, Joe Ronan for Mark O'Flynn, Ian O'Sullivan for Ger Hogan..

Scorers: Mark Long 1-03, Thomas Barrett and Kevin Finnegan 0-03 each, Mark O'Flynn 0-02 (0-01 free), Aidan Barry Murphy 0-01, Denis O'Leary 0-01 (free).
Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors