Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Junior B Football Championship - Aghabullogue V Macroom (First Round) Report Page

14/07/2010  Aghabullogue  4-11   Macroom  1-06


Following an impressive win over Macroom in the Junior B Football Championship on Wednesday, 14th  June, the Aghabullogue men progress to the next stage of the championship. Macroom opened the scoring with a point but this was quickly followed by great points for Aghabullogue from Kenneth Hogan and Robert O’Keeffe. Macroom added another point to their tally but again Peter O’Riordan responded with a great point from play for Aghabullogue. Macroom kept in touch with another point but a spectacular catch in the air from Peter O’Riordan followed by a great hand pass to Kevin Finnegan, saw a great point scored by Kevin. Aghabullogue finished the stronger and with a great goal from Kenneth Hogan with minutes remaining in the first half saw Aghabullogue lead at the break on a scoreline of 1-04 to 0-03.

The second half produced an inspiring display by the Aghabullogue men, and when they opened up the play, they found the target at their ease. Again, Macroom opened the scoring but then Aghabullogue took over and with scores coming from Robert O’Keeffe (0-02), Peter O’Riordan (1-0), Kenneth Hogan(1-0), John Kelleher (0-01), Kevin Finnegan(0-01) and Tim O’Leary (0-01), Aghabullogue were well on top. Macroom responded with another point but again Aghabullogue replied, this time with a rocket of a goal from John Kelleher. Macroom did score a goal but points from John Greelish and Peter O’Riordan gave Aghabullogue a further cushion. Macroom finished the scoring of the game with another point but Aghabullogue ran out well deserved winners in the end on a scoreline of 4-11 to 1-06.

Aghabullogue now face the winners of Eire Og and Iveleary in the Quarter Final of the Championhsip.

Team : Ian O’Sullivan, Alan Hogan, Kevin Kennedy, Paddy Foley, Michael Dennehy, Aidan Barry Murphy, Denis Finnegan, William Harrington, Tim O’Leary, Stephen Dennehy, Kenneth Hogan, John Kelleher, Kevin Finnegan, Peter O’Riordan, Robert O’Keeffe.

Subsitutes: John Greelish for Denis Finnegan, Tony O’Flynn for Michael Dennehy, Brendan Perrott for Alan Hogan, Pat Walsh for Aidan Barry Murphy, Anthony O’Sullivan for Paddy Foley.

Scores for Aghabullogue : Kenneth Hogan 2-01, Peter O’Riordan 1-02, John Kelleher 1-01, Robert O’Keeffe 0-03,  Kevin Finnegan 0-02, Tim O’Leary and John Greelish 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors