Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Junior Football Championship - Aghabullogue V Blarney Report Page

05/08/2009  Blarney  2-09   Aghabullogue  2-07


The Aghabullogue Junior B Footballers were unlucky to lose the first round of championship following a hard fought battle with Blarney. Despite the best efforts of the Aghabullogue men, Blarney ran out winners in the end.

The first half of the game was a very close affair with both teams adding fours points to the scoreboard. The Aghabullogue scores came courtosy of Pat Walsh (two), Michael Buckley and Tony O'Flynn. A great save from John Buckley denied Blarney a lead at the interval.

The second half turned out to be a much higher scoring half and great scores were achieved by both sides. Aidan Barry Murphy opened the scoring in the second half with a great score running up from his half back position. Blarney quickly added a goal and two points before Aidan Barry Murphy landed a rocket of a shot to the back of the Blarney net, leaving just one point between the sides. Aghabullogue and Blarney then exchanged a number of points with the Aghabullogue scores coming from Pat Walsh. Blarney then added a goal and Aghabullogue fought on and as a result of their tenacious efforts, substitute Michael Dennehy kicked a bullet of a shot to the back of the Blarney net. The last minutes of the game were very tense as Aghabullogue tried their utmost to get another goal, which was not to be.

  Team : John Buckley, Paddy Foley, Kevin Kennedy, David Sheehan, Aidan Barry Murphy, Connie Lucey, Finbarr O'Sullivan, William Harrington, Tim O'Leary, Donal Casey, Tony Flynn, Dhani Merrick, Pat Walsh, Michael Buckley, Thomas Barrett.

Substitutes: Michael Dennehy for Thomas Barrett, Finbarr O'Flynn for Donal Casey.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors