Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Junior Football Championship - Aghabullogue V Blarney Report Page

25/06/2008  Blarney  0-13   Aghabullogue  2-06


The Aghabullogue Junior B Footballers were unlucky not to progress to the next round of the Junior Football Championship following their clash with Blarney in Ballyanly this evening. Despite a great performance by the Aghabullogue men, Blarney edged out winners at the very end on the narrowest of margins.

The first half ended on a score line of 7 points to 4 in favour of Blarney, with the 4 Aghabullogue points coming compliments of Kenneth Hogan (free), Ruan Linehan and Kevin Finnegan (2 frees).

The second half turned out to be a very exciting affair with both sides putting some very impressive scores on the scoreboard. Minutes into the second half, Jermome Corkery brought the sides level with a cracking goal, following an inch perfect pass from Eoin Kennedy. Corkery was on hand minutes later to score another impressive point for Aghabullogue. Blarney put another two points on the scoreboard before kenneth Hogan finished off a great move with a rocket of a goal, leaving Aghabullogue with a two point advantage. Blarney added two further points, but Aghabullogue regained the lead with a great point from play from Joe Ronan. Despite the best efforts of the men in green and white, the Blarney men finished stronger adding another two points, which meant they ran out winners on a final scoreline of 0-13 to 2-06. Well done to all involved on putting on a great performance.

  Team : John Buckley, Stephen Buckley, Kevin Kennedy, Timmy Roche, Jermome Corkery, Padraig Murphy, Finbarr O'Sullivan, William Harrington, Tony Flynn, Ruan Linehan, Eoin Kennedy, Kenneth Hogan, Michael Buckley, Kevin Finnegan, Denis Finnegan.

Subsitutes: Connie O'Sullivan for Denis Finnegan, Joe Ronan for Michael Buckley.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors