Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Hurling 2nd Round Championship - V Tracton Report Page

16/06/2012  Tracton 0-21 Aghabullogue 1-12


Tracton got the better of Aghabullogue in the second round of the Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship, leaving Aghabullogue with only one more chance to remain in the 2012 Championship. Aghabullogue will have to wait for the draw on Monday 18th June to see who they play in the third round. The sides were evenly matched throughout the first half and Finbarr Foley kept Aghabullogue well in touch with four points from free's. Dónal Twomey added a further two points for Aghabullogue and Denis O'Leary recorded the only goal of the game from a penalty when Aghabullogue's full forward Dónal Twomey was pulled down in the Tracton square. Just before the half time whistle, Aghabullogue's goal keeper, Denis O'Leary pulled off an impressive save, which denied Tracton of a lead at half time. At half time the sides were on level terms on a scoreline of Aghabullogue 1-07, Tracton 0-10.

Tracton took the lead at the beginning of the second half and never looked back. Aghabullogue's centre back Niall Buckley added an impressive point for Aghabullogue and Finbarr Foley added a further four points from free's, however it was not enough to over come a determined Tracton side. Tracton ran out winners on a final score line of 0-21 to 1-12. Aghabullogue now wait to hear who their opponents are in the third round of the Championship.

Team: Denis O'Leary, Donnacha Murphy, Joe Foley, Alan Hogan, Denis Quinlan, Niall Buckley, Eoghan Kennedy, Danny Buckley, Paul O'Rourke, Sean O'Sullivan, Greg Murphy, Aidan Barry Murphy, Finbarr Foley, Dónal Twomey, John Buckley .

Subs: Padraig Murphy for Aidan Barry Murphy, Mark O'Flynn for Paul O'Rourke, Paudie Twomey for Greg Murphy, Brian Buckley for Eoghan Kennedy.

Scorers: Finbarr Foley 0-08 (0-08 free's), Denis O'Leary 1-0 (penalty), Dónal Twomey 0-02, Niall Buckley, John Buckley 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors