Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Hurling Championship - Aghabullogue V Kilbrittan (Third Round) Report Page

07/08/2011 Aghabullogue 1-13 Kilbrittan 0-16


Aghabullogue and Kilbrittan will have to meet for a third time this season, following a drawn match in the third round of the Premier Intermediate Hurling campaign on Sunday 7th August. The first two scores of the game came from the Kilbrittan men but John Kelleher and Denis Quinlan quickly responded with a point each for Aghabullogue. Kilbrittan added a further point before Aghabullogue replied with four points in a row, with Patrick Finnegan getting three points (1 free) and Paudie Twomey getting one point. Kilbrittan added another point but Dan Twomey quickly cancelled this out with a great point from play. Finbarr Foley denied Kilbrittan of a goal with a great save but Kilbrittan did manage to claw back 2 points with two points from play just before half time. Half time score read 0-07 to 0-06 in favour of Aghabullogue.

The second half opened with a point from a free for Kilbrittan but Patrick Finnegan responded with a point from a free for Aghabullogue. John Buckley and Patrick Finnegan added further points for Aghabullogue but Kilbrittan then scored six points without reply, which put them in the lead, 14 points to 11 points. Aghabullogue were awarded a penalty when John Kelleher was pulled down in the Kilbrittan square. Patrick Finnegan stepped up the mark and landed the ball in the back of the Kilbrittan net, leaving the sides on level pegging. Kilbrittan added another point from play before Patrick Finnegan added a point from a free and John Buckley added a point from play for Aghabullogue, which put Aghabullogue one point ahead. Kilbrittan were awarded a free in the last minute of the game, where they scored a point, which meant the sides were level when the final whistle was blown.

So the sides must meet yet again to determine the winner of this County Quarter Final!

Team : Finbarr Foley, Jerome Corkery, Joe Foley, Donnacha Murphy, Denis Quinlan, Barry Kiely, Danny Buckley, Niall Buckley, Paul O'Rourke, Patrick Finnegan, Dan Twomey, John Buckley, Paudie Twomey, John Kelleher, Padraig Murphy.

Substitutes: John Corkery for Padriag Murphy, Michael Dennehy for Paul O'Rourke, Brian Buckley for Danny Buckley, Eoghan Kennedy for John Kelleher

Scorers:Patrick Finnegan 1-07 (0-3 frees, 1 penalty), John Buckley 0-02, John Kelleher, Denis Quinlan, Paudie Twomey, Dan Twomey 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors