Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Hurling Championship - Aghabullogue V Fr. O'Neills (Relegation Final) Report Page

30/07/2010  Aghabullogue  1-15   Fr. O'Neills  0-10


Aghabullogue earned their place in the 2011 Premier Intermediate Hurling Competition following an impressive win over Fr. O'Neills in the 2010 Releagtion Final. The Aghabullogue men displayed great skill and heart and their emphatic performance has allowed them to retain their status for next year.

Fr. O'Neills were the first to register a score with a point from play but Kevin Finnegan cancelled this out with a great point from play. Fr O'Neills added a further two points but a quick reaction from John Corkery when the ball rebounded off the Fr O'Neills post, saw Aghabullogue registering a deserved goal. Aghabullogue then upped their ante and scored three great points (Kevin Finnegan, John Corkery & John Buckley) from play. Fr O'Neills worked hard and ensured they kept in touch with a further three points but further points from John Buckley and Patrick Finnegan meant Aghabullogue finished the first half with a four point advantage (1-07 to 0-06).

Aghabullogue started the second half very strong and went a further 4 points ahead within a short period of time, with the scores coming from Kevin Finnegan, John Corkery (two) and Patrick Finnegan (free). Fr O'Neills did manage to add a further four points but again further points for Aghabullogue from Michael Dennehy (two), Kevin Finnegan and Patrick Finnegan (free) ensured Aghabullogue kept their well deserved lead. Aghabullogue ran out worthy winners in the end and can now look forward to playing in this grade again next year.

Team : Finbarr Foley, Padraig Murphy, Joe Foley, Jerome Corkery, Michael Twomey, Tim Buckley, Barry Kiely, Niall Buckley, Patrick Finnegan, Aidan Barry Murphy, John Kelleher, Kevin Finnegan, Michael Dennehy, John Buckley, John Corkery.

Subsitutes: Dan Twomey for Aidan Barry Murphy.

Scorers: John Corkery 1-04, Kevin Finnegan 0-04, Patrick Finnegan 0-03 (frees), John Buckley, Michael Dennehy 0-02 each .
Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors