Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Hurling Championship - Aghabullogue V Ballincollig (First Round) Report Page

27/06/2010  Ballincollig  0-21   Aghabullogue  2-12


Aghabullogue have to face Tracton in the second round of the 2010 Intermediate hurling Championship following a defeat to Ballincollig in Cloughduv on Sunday night - 27th June. Ballincollig opened the stronger and had scored two points before Aghabullogue got a score, which came from Patrick Finnegan. Ballincollig continued to rack on points but thanks to three points from frees from Patrick Finnegan and a fine point from play from John Buckley, Aghabullogue stayed in touch. Ballincollig then upped the ante but Patrick Finnegan kept Aghabullogue in the game with a great goal from a placed ball. Kevin Finnegan then added another point from a free for Aghabullogue and at half time, Ballincollig were leading on a scoreline of 0-14 to 1-06.

Kevin Finnegan opened the scoring in the second half with a great point from a free. This was quickly cancelled out with a point from play for Ballincollig but Kevin added another point from a free immediately after. In between some points from Ballincollig, Micheal Twomey and Niall Buckley added a great point each from play for Aghabullogue. Aghabullogue's substitute - John Kelleher made an impressive impact on his introduction and hit a rocket of a shot to the back of the Ballincollig net. Again points were exchanged between the sides, with the Aghabullogue points coming from Niall Buckley and John Kelleher. Ballincollig had the final say in the game with a point from play and ran out winners in the end on a final scoreline of 0-21 to 2-12.

Team : Finbarr Foley, Padraig Murphy, Joe Foley, Paudie Twomey, Michael Twomey, Dan Twomey, Brian Buckley, Barry Kiely, Tim Buckley, Kevin Finnegan, Niall Buckley, Aidan Barry Murphy, Patrick Finnegan, John Buckley, John Corkery.

Subsitutes: Michael Dennehy for Joe Foley, John Kelleher for Brian Buckley.

Scores for Aghabullogue : Patrick Finnegan 1-04 (1-03 free's), John Kelleher 1-01, Kevin Finnegan 0-03 (0-03 free's), Niall Buckley 0-02, Micheal Twomey & John Buckley 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors