Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Football Championship - V Ballyclough (June 2011) Report Page

19/06/2011  Aghabullogue 1-15 Ballyclough 0-10


Aghabullogue are now through to the third round of the Intermediate Football Championship following a great win over Ballyclough on Sunday 19th June. The first half was a very close affair with sides regulary exchanging scores, and leaving the half time score read 0-07 to 0-06 in favour of Aghabullogue. The Aghabullogue scores came courtesy of four of the Aghabullogue forwards, with John Hogan scoring two points from free's, John Corkery scoring 3 points, 1 from a free and John Kelleher and Brian Buckley scoring 1 point each.

In the second half, the Aghabullogue men upped the ante and proved to be much too strong for the Ballyclough men. The opening minutes of the second half saw great scores for Aghabullogue coming from John Corkery, Patrick Finnegan and Donal Cullinane. Ballyclough managed to claw back a few points but John Corkery added a further two points to push Aghabullogue further ahead. Niall Buckley added a further point from play before Paul O'Rourke was dragged down in the Ballyclough square, for which he was awarded a penalty. Patrick Finnegan stepped up to the mark and landed the ball in the back of the Ballylough net. John Corkery added one further point from a free for Aghabullogue and Aghabullogue finished much stonger and the final scoreline read 1-15 to 1-09 in favour of Aghabullogue. An open draw will now take place to determine who Aghabullogue meet in round 3.

  Team: John Buckley, Paudie Twomey, Danny Buckley, Jerome Corkery, Barry Kiely,  Dan Twomey, Dhani Merrick, Niall Buckley, Donal Cullinane, Brian Buckley, Patrick Finnegan, John Kelleher, John Hogan, Michael O'Sullivan, John Corkery.

Subs: Paul O'Rourke for Michael O'Sullivan, Padraig Murphy for John Hogan, Robert O'Keeffe for Brian Buckley, Kenneth Hogan for John Corkery.

Scorers: John Corkery 0-08 (4 frees), Patrick Finnegan 1-01 , John Hogan 0-02, John Kelleher, Brian Buckley, Niall Buckley & Donal Cullinane 0-01 each.

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors