Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
Intermediate Camogie County Final V Newtownshandrum Report Page

22/09/2012 Aghabullogue 2-08 Newtownshandrum 3-04


Aghabullogue were deservedly crowned Intermediate Camogie County Champions for 2012 following an emphatic win over Newtownshandrum on Saturday 22nd September in Castle Road. Aghabullogue played with the wind in the first half; however it was Newtownshandrum who recorded the first score of the game with a point from play. This was the only time that Newtownshandrum lead for the duration of the game as Aghabullogue showed great skill, tenacity and determination and took the game to Newtownshandrum. Aileen Twomey recorded Aghabullogue’s first score with an impressive goal and this score was quickly followed with impressive points from Michelle Healy, Ciara Murphy and Aileen Twomey. Aghabullogue stretched their lead and at half time, Aghabullogue lead on a scoreline of 1-04 to 0-02

Despite playing against the wind in the second half, the entire Aghabullogue team worked tirelessly over the 30 minutes. With the Aghabullogue backs and mid field working as if their lives depended on it, it gave the Aghabullogue forwards opportunities to increase their lead. The forwards duly obliged. Una Browne flicked a beauty of a goal to the back of the Newtownshandrum net and Aileen Twomey, Ciara Murphy and Michelle Healy each added further points. Newtownshandrum did respond to the Aghabullogue challenge and managed to reduce Aghabullogue’s lead to a single point, however the ‘never say die attitude’ of the ladies in green and white ensured a well deserved victory for the Mid Cork Club. This is a major achievement for Aghabullogue and much credit much be given to the girls, management and all those involved. The girls now represent Cork in the Munster Competition. Their next opponents are the Clare representatives on 13th October away in the Munster Semi Final. So Congratulations again and the very Best of Luck in the Munster Competition!

Team: Nicola Moynihan, Mairéad Twomey, Erinn O’Connell, Aisling Duff, Jill Crowley, Joan Twomey, Niamh Twomey, Brid Twomey, Ciara Murphy, Deirdre Twomey, Michelle Healy, Aileen Twomey, Sarah Dineen, Una Browne, Caroline Kiely

Subs: Kate O’Sullivan for Aisling Duff, Nicola Doherty for Una Browne and Jill Kiely for Sarah Dineen

Scorers: Aileen Twomey 1-03, Michelle Healy 0-03, Una Browne 1-00, Ciara Murphy 0-02

Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors