Aghabullogue GAA Top Banner
IHL Aghabullogue V Ballyhea Report Page

Ballyhea pegged back in late show
By PAT RYAN, Evening Echo, 23/04/07
Intermediate Hurling League 22/04/07
Ballyhea 2-15  Aghabullogue 2-15
AGHABULLOGUE, with a great second half took a share of the points in this Evening Echo Co. IHL at Ballyhea last Sunday.
Ballyhea got off to a perfect start helped by an early Ian Ronan goal. They led 1-5 to 0-0 after 15 minutes. The Mid-Cork side then came into the game, picking up at midfield and also in the half forward line.
Kevin Finnegan opened with a pointed free in the 17th minute, Dan Twomey followed and with a Kevin Finnegan free in the 18th minute the lead was down to five. Good work by Aidan Crowley led to a Ballyhea point by Ian Curtin, with Maurice O’Sullivan adding another after a clearance by Stephen Dennehy. Barry Coleman worked well for Ballyhea at centre-back and in the 25th minute a long free by Coleman was finished to the net by Maurice O’Sullivan. This put Ballyhea 10 points clear. Aghabullogue came back and Dan Twomey struck the net, with Ballyhea 2-9 to 1-6 ahead at the break.
For the second half Aghabullogue made three changes, introducing regular keeper Finbarr Foley with Donal Twomey taking over at wing forward. They also brought on Micheál Twomey at wing back. The half-forward line did well. Barry Coleman and Maurice O’Sullivan had pointed frees with Donal Twomey and Kevin Finnegan keeping Aghabullogue in touch. In the 45th minute Barry Kiely struck a point and there was a fine goal by David Moynihan for 2-il each.
Ballyhea again edged ahead with points by Maurice O’Sullivan and Aidan Crowley. A great cross-field delivery by Patrick Finnegan found Kevin Finnegan who pointed. Ballyhea led by two points with two minutes to go. The mid-Cork side showed great character and were rewarded with late points by Patrick Finnegan long free and Barry Kiely in injury time.
A draw was a fitting result. Best for Aghabullogue Patrick Finnegan, Eddie Twomey, Kevin Finnegan, Dan Twomey, Barry Kiely and Donal Twomey.
For Ballyhea Ollie Morrissey, Stephen Dennehy, Eamon Morrissey, Barry Coleman, and Maurice O’Sullivan were best.
Scorers for Aghabullogue: Kevin Finnegan 0-6 (4fl Patrick Finnegan 0-4 l2fl Dan Twomey 1, David Moynihan 1-0, Barry Kiely 0-2, Donal Twomey, Paul O’Rourke 0-1 each.
Scorers for Ballyhea: Maurice O’Sullivan 1-7. (2fl Barry Coleman 0 3f, Ian Ronan 1-0, Gavin Morrissey 0-2 Aidan Crowley Jonathan O’Sullivan, Ian Curtin 0 1 each.
Aghabullogue: Donal Twomey, Stephen Buckley, Padraig Murphy, Brendan Perrott, Tim Buckley, Niall Buckley, Denis O’Leary, Pat Finnegan , Eddie Twomey, Kevin Finnegan, Dan Twomey, Barry Kiely, Paul O’Rourke, David Moynihan, Tim O’Leary. Subs: Finbarr Foley for Donal Twomey, Donal Twomey for Tim O’Leary, Micheál Twomey for Stephen Buckley, Brian McElroy for Brendan Perrott.
Ballyhea: Ollie Morrissey, Stephen Derrnehy, Eamon Morrissey, Hugh O’Leary, Michael Morrissey, Barry Coleman, Eoin O’Sullivan, Alden Crowley, Liam O’Connor, lan Curtin, Timmy Shanahan, Jonathan O’Sullivan, Maurice O’Sullivan, Ian Ron an, Gavin Morrissey. Subs: David O’Riordan for Ian Curtin, Aidan O’Connor for Jonathan O’Sullivan, Edward Rea for Timmy Shanahan.
Referee: Eoin Walsh (Dromina)
Go to Match Reports Index

Aghabullogue GAA Club Sponsors